NSFW – Pork interlude

I suppose this is only not safe for work if you work for a Jewish institution or have an aversion to knowing where your meat comes from (yes Krista, I am talking about you).  In my grand tradition of trayfing it up after the long stretch of the High Holidays, I decided to go whole hog… literally. I couple of Tuesdays ago I got a facebook message from Ryan Farr of 4505 Meats, that he had gotten his hands on a pig and would be teaching his highly sought out Whole Hog Butcher class that Friday. Ever since Gordon and I took his lamb butcher class I had been wanting to get into the hog class but he hadn’t held one in months so I jumped at the chance and hit redial until I was enrolled.

The class had moved to 4505 Meats new kitchen, instead of La Cocina, and while the space was smaller, it was really great not to have to share space with other chefs and groups, which made the class more intimate and conducive to learning. There were about 12 of us in the class and to my delight the number of women had doubled to 4, from the 2 of us in the lamb class. The pig was a 150lb mixed heritage breed and wild hog, who had lived out its days roaming an organic farm. Unlike the lamb, the pig still had it head, so after we removed it everyone made the obligatory Lord of the Flies jokes. It was also interesting to work with a larger animal than the baby lambs, because the cuts were easier to distinguish. Let me tell you frenching a rack of pork took me about a third of the time it took to do the rack of lamb.

As usual for Ryan’s classes we got to bring home about 8lb of meat and let me tell you it is delicious and I still have some shoulder in the freezer that I am debating turning into either a ragù or carnitas. As usual we also got to gorge ourselves on Ryan’s amazing chicharrones and sausages, but what really got me excited was when Ryan told me he might be getting his hands on a cow. I want in. I figure if I talk about 4505 Meats enough I might just gain an edge to get a place in that class.

While I managed to remember to bring my camera to class I quickly discovered that I had left my memory card in my computer at home, so I have to give a very big “thank you” and credit for the photos to my classmate, Leo Spooner.

1 Comment

Filed under Meat, Pork interlude, Snout to Tail, Trayfe

One response to “NSFW – Pork interlude

  1. Daddio

    Daddio is interested in some trayf. When are you cookin’?

Leave a Reply

