The Bagel Chronicles part 1

Yom Kippur will start Sunday evening. I have found two good ways to cope with the inevitable low blood sugar and hunger grumpiness that strikes late in the afternoon. One is to have a good game plan for what’s for break-fast. Two, make it complicated, taking lots of prep time and therefore keeping me busy while the clock continues its slow progress towards sundown.

This year I will be making bagels and lox from scratch. The lox I am not so worried about, I have a few recipes and plenty of salt for the curing. I will find a nice piece of wild salmon later this week. The bagels on the other hand are a different story. I have made bagels on and off over the years and found that they are temperamental little beasts. One day they turn out wonderful, the next like hockey pucks.

More after the break

Having done a bit of research in my collection of cookbooks I knew that the one with the best guidance is once again the Cook’s Illustrated The New Best Recipe: All-New Edition. I reviewed their experiments and also looked at some of the Jewish cookbooks I had. Having done that I proceeded to my first trial.

Alas, failure. Of course it might have something to do with the flour I purchased a few weeks ago. Without looking at the label closely I picked up 20 lbs of flour at Costco. It turned out to be high fiber, whole grain. While it looks like normal flour, it seems to have almost no protein at all. This resulted in two tough little bagels that tasted like a whole wheat roll.

Tomorrow we will try again. Full recipe upon success.

1 Comment

Filed under Bread, Holidays

One response to “The Bagel Chronicles part 1

  1. Pingback: The Bagel Chronicles part 2 « Jewish Food in the Hands of Heathens

Leave a Reply

